Visitor No. StatsCounter Hits

Search ECI website only

Chapter 3: Vice-President of India

A person who is a citizen of India, has completed 35 years of age and is qualified for election as a member of the Council of States {Rajya Sabha} is eligible for election as Vice-President. S/he should not hold any office of profit under the government of India or the government of any state or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said governments.

The term of office for the Vice-President is 5 years from the date on which s/he enters upon office.

Electoral College consists of members of both Houses of Parliament including nominated members. Value of vote of each Member of Parliament is one. Each elector has as many preferences as there are candidates. The elections are held in accordance with the system of Proportional Representation by means of single transferable vote. [Article 66 of Constitution of India]

The Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The present Vice-President of India is Shri M.Hamid Ansari.

3.1 Vice Presidents Of India
3.2 Schedule of Vice Presidential Elections
3.3 Electrol Participation In Vice Presidential Elections
  Download Chapter 3
Quick Links
  Link to State/UT CEOs International Cooperation National Voter Day
  Officer's Login Link to DeitY Appstore ECI Mail Service
  Download Manager Page (For Officers) Miscellaneous Statistics Help
  Observer's Portal (For Observers Only) Delimitation Sitemap
  CEO's portal  /  ECI login /  Bye-Election Media Corner Genesys
  ECI Officers login (For Observer Reports) Best Sharing Portal E-Office